NEET Eligibility Criteria 2017

NEET Eligibility Criteria 2017NEET Eligibility Criteria 2017: Candidates who wish to apply for NEET 2017 can check below for the detailed eligibility criteria as declared by the exam conducting authority, Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE). NEET is the single entrance examination in the country for admissions to MBBS and BDS programmes, as per a Supreme Court directive in 2016. Candidates are advised to carefully check the below mentioned eligibility criteria for appearing in NEET 2017. In case a candidate does not fulfil the requirements, he/she cannot appear in the entrance exam under any circumstance.

LatestClick here for NEET Second Round Counselling 2017 registration, seat matrix and choice locking

NEET UG Pathfinder
Got your NEET results?
  • Find top ranked colleges where you can seek admission
  • Find Best Branch for each of the colleges
  • Get a comprehensive personalized report for complete analysis


Highlights of NEET Eligibility Criteria 2017



Candidates can check below eligibility criteria for NEET 2017:

  • Earlier, CBSE had said that the number of attempts a candidate can avail at NEET is limited to three and candidates who had already exhausted their three attempts will not be eligible to appear in NEET 2017However, as per a new notification released on February 3, 2017, CBSE has rolled back a limitation of three attempts and the examination taken in 2017 will be treated as the first attempt irespective of previous attempts

  • The candidate must have completed age of 17 years at the time of admission or will complete the age on or before 31st December, 2017 i.e. the year of his/her admission to the 1st year M.B.B.S./B.D.S. Course

  • Indian Nationals, Non Resident Indians (NRI’s), Overseas Citizen of India (OCI’s), Persons of Indian Origin (PIO’s) & Foreign Nationals are eligible for appearing in the National Eligibility Cum Entrance Test (UG), 2017

  • There will be no maximum age limit for NEET 2017 as per the SC order passed on March 31, 2017.

  • The candidate must have passed in the subjects of Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Bio-technology and English individually and must have obtained a minimum of 50% marks taken together in Physics, Chemistry and Biology/ Bio-technology at the qualifying examination. For candidates belonging to Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribes or Other Backward Classes, the marks obtained in Physics, Chemistry and Biology/Bio-technology taken together in qualifying examination must be minimum 40% instead of 50% for General candidates. Further, for persons for locomotor disability of lower limbs, the minimum of 45% marks for General-PH and 40% marks for SC-PH/ST-PH/OBC-PH are required.

  • The candidates appearing for Class XII examination in 2017 can also appear for the entrance test provisionally subject to their fulfilling the conditions later.

Minimum Percentage in 10+2 or HSC for NEET 2017


Marks in 10+2 or HSC examination







This year NEET will be conducted in 10 languages including English, Hindi and 8 regional languages. Still, the candidates qualifying NEET would be eligible for All India Quota and other quotas under the State Governments/Institutes, irrespective of the medium in which the examination is taken by a candidate, subject to other eligibility criteria.


Qualifications and Qualification Examination Codes:


Code 1

A candidate who is appearing in Class XII examination in 2017 and whose result is awaited can appear in NEET 2017 but he/she is not eligible for admissions if he/she doesn’t pass the qualifying examination with required pass percentage


Code 2

The senior secondary education or the Indian school certificate examination after a period of 12 years study, the last two years of such study consists of Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology or Mathematics or any other elective subject with English at the level not less than the core of English


Code 3

The intermediate/pre degree examination in Science of an India University or other recognised examination body with English, Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology and also English as a compulsory subject


Code 4

The pre-professional/pre-medical examination with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology and English after passing either at higher secondary, pre-university examinations or an equivalent examination. This should also include practical tests in these subjects and also English as a compulsory subject.


Code 5

The first year of the three years of degree from a recognised university with Physics, Chemistry and Biology/Biotechnology including practical tests and also have studied English at a not less than a core course


Code 6

 B.Sc examination from an Indian university provided that a candidate has passed the B.Sc examination with not less than two of the subjects, Physics, Chemistry and Biology/Biotechnology. Besides, a candidate must have also passed the earlier qualification with Physics, Chemistry, Biology and English


Code 7

Any other examination which in cope and standard is found to be equivalent to the intermediate science examination of an Indian University/Board with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology and English as compulsory subjects including practical tests in each subject


Note: The pre-medical course may be conducted either at a medical college or at a science college. Also, marks obtained in Mathematics are not to be considered for admissions to MBBS/BDS courses.



Related Articles


Free Sample Papers

Previous Next